The less-than-ordinary life of Kem Rixen

Kem Rixen

I'm thinking of continuing this, what do you think of it so far, it's the begining of a long story that I may or may not write. It's my first attempt at writing in a long time, I'm a bit rusty.

-------------------------------------------------------------
Then I woke up. Not waking up as in the sense of being knocked out from fighting off hundreds of space aliens, nor in the sense of consuming massive amounts of alcohol and waking up in the morning not remembering the previous night. This was the now less-than-standard waking up, as in waking up after a good nights sleep. I lifted up my grayish-blue bed sheets, they were original blue; time has worn out most of the color. I sat up in bed, swung my feet around and firmly planted them upon the floor, all the while trying to remember the previous nights’ dream. By the time I had reached the bathroom my mind had left that topic completely, it was on sports. Calvin Ball1, the national sport, was starting in a few days; I couldn’t wait to watch it, always original.

After doing all the hygienic things one does in the morning I walked down the staircase, the one nearest the button is always squeaky, I avoided it, leaping from the second step nearest the bottom to the floor. From the staircase I followed the hallway, ending up in the kitchen, a disgusting looking room, the previous tenants had painted it terribly; due to the busyness of moving in I hadn’t had time to paint it yet. I tried to ignore the paint job, however I couldn’t; as I poured the milk into my bowl of cereal the milk turned to the reddish-brown paint on the walls, blinking quickly it turned back into milk.