Shades of Grey -- A novel by C.S.Goodhue

caleeb12

Hey all, check out the website below to read and comment on my novel-to-be, Shades of Grey. I am really looking forward to getting any constructive criticism.

SoG

Regards,

Caleb

Werbung:

Miran_Eitan

Okay, just so you know, I'm not critiquing to be a bastard. I'm naturally a jerk and I'm a writer myself. I've had several poems and short stories included in newspapers and journals, so I have at least a bit of literary background.

I'm not going to mince words. The story made me cringe. As a screenplay, it would do fine, you have plenty of drama and not a whole lot of forethought, but as a book, it's simply not dynamic enough.

In simpler terms, a good book needs several things for the reader to be interested in. Solid characters, some form of reader grab and some form of intelligent writing for the plot.

Solid Characters can be everything from the cliche lead character who doesn't really know who he is, to something more unique like the man who knows what he wants to accomplish, but is just a procrastinator. Your characters have to have a back-story. Even if you don't include it in your book, you should to write it up, just so you the writer, know who they are. It helps in the long run. You don't have to blurt out that the guy was born in chicago circa 1985 and was a drug addict after dropping out of high school in the middle of an action sequence though, drop hints here and there, let the reader find out slowly about your main characters. That adds length and intrique to the book and makes them connect with the character. If they feel for your characters, then they'll be more attached when you start having plot twists or some form of drama.